Various: In Death's Dream Kingdom 4LP

Availability: Out of stock

Houndstooth, the artist-led label from London’s renowned fabric nightclub and label, delivers a new compilation, In Death’s Dream Kingdom. T.S. Eliot published The Hollow Men in 1925, yet his poem feels as relevant as ever, given its apocalyptic overtones and claustrophobic, despondent air. Twenty six artists producing the cream of leftfield electronic music have been given a brief: to take the phrase In Death’s Dream Kingdom, or the whole of Eliot’s poem as inspiration. The result is a compilation that features original tracks from Lanark Artefax, Pan Daijing, Gazelle Twin, and Fever Ray co-producer Peder Mannerfelt, among others. Vibrating with vivid sonic references, the poem is a feast for the ears, which makes it a ripe subject for musical interpretation. Not an album in the traditional sense, it brings together a seriously diverse array of talents into a coherent whole with a vivid aesthetic reverberating through it. It occupies a similar space to the great home listening electronica acts of the ’90s: FSOL, Global Communication, the Artificial Intelligence axis. But there are no throwbacks here; this is radical in sound and thought. Dark music for dark times. Features the apocalyptic artwork of Rotterdam-based artist Jazz Szu-Ying Chen. Cut and mastered by Matt Colton at Alchemy. Also features: Otto Lindholm, Petit Singe, Tomoko Sauvage, Pye Corner Audio, Sophia Loizou, Abul Mogard, Par Grindvik, Koenraad Ecker, Roly Porter, Hodge, Shapednoise, ASC, Batu, We Will Fail, Peter Van Hoesen, Spatial, Yves De Mey, Mindspan, Kangding Ray, ZOV ZOV, Ian William Craig, and Christophe De Babalon.

0 stars based on 0 reviews