St. Vincent: Actor LP

Availability: Out of stock

Actor is the highly anticipated new album by St. Vincent (nee Annie Clark), and the follow-up to her first album Marry Me, one of the most acclaimed debuts of 2007. Actor was co-produced by Clark and John Congleton (Modest Mouse, Polyphonic Spree) and features eleven new songs, all written and arranged by Clark.

The new album takes the ambitious compositional and sonic underpinnings of Clark’s debut as a starting point and never looks back. Arrangements are more masterful, the songwriting grander, the performances ever more confident and inspired. Clark sings and plays guitar, bass and keys on Actor, with woodwind contributions from Hideaki Aomori (Sufjan Stevens) and Alex Sopp (Bjork, Phillip Glass), and additional rhythm section work by McKenzie Smith and Paul Alexander of Midlake. Other contributing musicians on the album include Mike Atkinson (French horn, score consultant), Daniel Hart (violin, sarongi), William Flynn (bass), and percussionists Jeff Ryan, Matthias Bossi, and Aynsley Powell.

0 stars based on 0 reviews