Prince: Welcome 2 America LP

Availability: In stock

Recorded in the spring of 2010 and then mysteriously abandoned by Prince before its release, the statement album Welcome 2 America documents The Purple One's concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice. The album features some of Prince's only studio collaborations with the bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, drummer Chris Coleman, and engineer Jason Agel, with additional contributions from the New Power Generation singers Shelby J, Liv Warfield, and Elisa Fiorillo plus keyboardist Morris Hayes, who Prince also recruited to co-produce the album. The standard vinyl edition has the 12 songs spread across three sides on 2LPs in gorgeous gatefold packaging, with a custom etching on the fourth side.

0 stars based on 0 reviews